Nations, the exercise of treaty-making powers and the establishment of separate diplomatic representation in a number of foreign countries have characterized this phase in the growth of Canada. More explicit recognition of the implications of the principles of equality of status was accorded in the Statute of Westminster of 1931, which provided for the removal of the remaining limitations on the legislative autonomy of the Commonwealth nations.

Thus Canada, under the Crown, has equality of status with the United Kingdom and the other Commonwealth nations in both domestic and foreign affairs; its government advises the Crown in the person of the Governor General on all matters relating to Canada. Canada has membership in the United Nations; makes its own treaties; appoints its own ambassadors and other representatives abroad; levies its own taxes; makes its own laws which are executed by a government dependent on the will of a majority of the people; and maintains its own military, naval and air forces. In short, Canada has achieved the full status of democratic nationhood within the Commonwealth of Nations.

PART II.—MACHINERY OF GOVERNMENT Section 1.—The Federal Government

Subsections 1 and 2 of this Section, dealing, respectively, with the Executive and the Legislative branches of the Federal Government, are being carried as Appendix I to this volume in order that data becoming available following the General Election of Aug. 10, 1953, may be included.

Subsection 3.—The Judiciary

The Federal Judiciary

The Parliament of Canada is empowered by Sect. 101 of the British North America Act to provide from time to time for the constitution, maintenance and organization of a general Court of Appeal for Canada and for the establishment of any additional courts for the better administration of the laws of Canada. Under this provision, Parliament has established the Supreme Court of Canada, the Exchequer Court of Canada and certain miscellaneous courts.

Supreme Court of Canada.—This Court, first established in 1875 and now governed by the Supreme Court Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 259), consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Canada, and eight puisne judges. The chief justice and the puisne judges are appointed by the Governor in Council and they hold office during good behaviour but are removable by the Governor General on address of the Senate and House of Commons. They cease to hold office upon attaining the age of 75 years. The Court sits at Ottawa and exercises general appellate jurisdiction throughout Canada in civil and criminal cases. The Court is also required to consider and advise upon questions referred to it by the Governor in Council and it may also advise the Senate or House of Commons on Private Bills referred to the Court under any rules or orders of the Senate or the House of Commons.

Appeals may be brought from any final judgment of the highest court of final resort in a province in any case where the amount or value of the matter in controversy exceeds the sum of \$2,000. An appeal may be brought from any other